

Perpetual announces longlist for prestigious 2023 Miles Franklin Literary Award

By Perpetual Private

16 May 2023



Perpetual, the trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, today announced eleven authors have been included on the 2023 Longlist. They will be competing for one of the most prominent literary prizes in Australia, with the winner also receiving \$60,000.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was established by feminist, and author of *My Brilliant Career*, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin. First presented in 1957, the Award celebrates novels of the highest literary merit that tell stories about Australian life, shining a light on some of the country's most accomplished writers.

The 2023 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:

Author	Novel	Publisher
Kgshak Akec	Hopeless Kingdom	UWA Publishing
Robbie Arnott	Limberlost	Text Publishing
Jessica Au	Cold Enough for Snow	Giramondo Publishing
Shankari Chandran	Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens	Ultimo Press
Claire G Coleman	Enclave	Hachette Australia
George Haddad	Losing Face	University of Queensland Press
Pirooz Jafari	Forty Nights	Ultimo Press
Julie Janson	Madukka: The River Serpent	UWA Publishing
Yumna Kassab	The Lovers	Ultimo Press
Fiona Kelly McGregor	Iris	Pan Macmillan Australia
Adam Ouston	Waypoints	Puncher & Wattmann

According to the judging panel, "The 2023 longlist is a reflection of the breadth and depth of contemporary Australian story-telling. The eleven longlisted novels define Australian literature as a transformative space where writers are singing the songs of the nation today. They reverberate with the cadences of this land where Indigenous sovereignty was never ceded, but also bring to us mellifluous sounds from far-away lands, weaving together literary traditions from around the world. The words of our novelists, grounded in personal experience, poetry and philosophy, are heralds of the new dawn of Australian fiction: they hum and hiss with language that is newly potent and styles that are imaginative and fresh."

The 2023 judges are Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and Chair; author and literary critic, Dr Bernadette Brennan; literary scholar and translator, Dr Mridula Nath Chakraborty; book critic, Dr James Ley; and author and editor, Dr Elfie Shiosaki.

Last year, the Miles Franklin Literary Award was awarded to Jennifer Down for her novel, Bodies of Light (2022).

The shortlisted finalists will be revealed on 20 June 2023 and the winner announced on 25 July 2023.

Join the Miles Franklin conversation

Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media.



About the Miles Franklin Literary Award www.milesfranklin.com.au

Perpetual is the Trustee for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. The Award was established in 1954 by the estate of *My Brilliant Career* author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to celebrate the Australian character and creativity. It supports the betterment of Australian literature by each year recognising the novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian Life in any of its phases. Since being established, the Award has distributed over \$1.48 million in philanthropic funds to authors. Those wishing to be part of the Miles Franklin legacy can donate to the <u>Franklin Support Fund</u> to become a friend of the Award. Please visit the website for further details.

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is a long-time supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, providing \$5,000 to each of the finalists and granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize since 2004.

About Perpetual Philanthropic Services

Perpetual is one of Australia's largest managers of philanthropic funds, with \$3.3 billion in funds under advice for charitable trusts and endowment funds (as at 30 June 2023). Perpetual is trustee for over 1000 charitable trusts and endowments and provides individuals and families with advice on establishing charitable foundations and structured giving programs. Each year Perpetual distributes more than \$129 million to community organisations on behalf of its clients. Perpetual also assists charities and not-for-profit organisations with investment advice and management.

Perpetual's Philanthropic Services and advice are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. The information contains general information only and is not intended to provide advice or take into account personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. To the extent permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information included in this document which was contributed by a third party.

About the Copyright Agency and Cultural Fund

The Copyright Agency is an Australian not-for-profit organisation that has been standing up for creators for more than 40 years. We enable the reuse of copyright-protected words and images in return for fair payment to creators. The Cultural Fund is the philanthropic arm of the Copyright Agency, contributing meaningfully to a wide range of Australian cultural, educational, and artistic programs and creators. Through its support it fosters greater understanding and engagement of national culture both locally and internationally.

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is a long-time supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, providing \$5,000 to each of the finalists and granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize since 2004.